Death by knitting

Hello world and welcome to knits by emma!

To learn what this site’s all about, visit the About page. For now I’d like to paint a picture of just how all of this came to be.

Since getting engaged to my marvelous Aussie beau, I’ve become a bit of an Etsy and Pinterest troll. I wouldn’t exactly say I have an eye for design, but I do know what I like. One can certainly get lost jumping from blog to blog and shop to shop looking at all the beautiful handmade DIY ideas perfect for the big day.

Somehow in this process, I ignited the dormant crafter in me. As a knitting beginner back in high school, I went through a very short lived phase where I made ugly scarves for everyone I knew.

This time, I was ready to learn more and perfect my meager skills. I started out by stocking up on materials and proceeded to play around with patterns and techniques for the next few weeks.

Kiss my cowl

Kiss my cowl

It wasn’t long before my little projects were taking over our living room, and now my yarn, needles and other tools have two drawers of their own. Even so, we were being buried alive by my finished and unfinished projects.

Controlled chaos

Controlled chaos

Rather than bombard my loved ones with “gifts” they may not actually want, I came up with the idea to sell my knit crafts online both for fun and to fund my yarn habit.

So far my friends have shown interest, and I hope to start out with a small loyal following of customers. But mostly I feel motivated to keep learning and getting my DIY on.

Headbands on parade

Headbands on parade

I recently read a book that described the concept of Flow. According to psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, ‘During flow, people typically experience deep enjoyment, creativity, and a total involvement with life.’ Knitting is an activity that I enjoy simply for the sake of it. Being creative helps me achieve flow, what works for you?

One thought on “Death by knitting

  1. It’s lucky I’ll be working next year, because I pretty much want to buy all your knits πŸ™‚
    the infinity scarf is so colourful!

Leave a Reply

